What qualifies as continuing medical education?

What qualifies as continuing medical education?

What qualifies as continuing medical education?

Continuing medical education consists of educational activities which serve to maintain, develop, or increase the knowledge, skills, and professional performance and relationships that a physician uses to provide services for patients, the public, or the profession.

How many CME do doctors need?

50 hours Under California law, physicians and surgeons must complete at least 50 hours of approved CME during each biennial renewal cycle. Most California-licensed physicians are required to take, as a one-time requirement, 12 hours of CME on pain management and the appropriate care and treatment of the terminally ill.

What is the difference between Category 1 and 2 CME?

Category 2 credits are credits that you can document on your own. These credits are earned for activities that are not certified for Category 1 Credit. Although these credits may be of value to some licensing, credentialing or professional organizations, earning them is not typically required.

Who needs CME credits?

If your job requires any type of license or certification, most likely you must complete CME each year in order to renew your license or certification. Nurses, doctors, and allied health professionals are all required to complete CME credits yearly. As a result, CME is an ongoing requirement throughout a career.

What counts as CME credit?

Physicians use CME credit to demonstrate that they have participated in educational activities and obtained CME credit to document meeting the requirements of state medical boards, medical specialty societies, specialty boards, hospital medical staffs, the Joint Commission, insurance groups, and others.

Does taking a board exam count as CME?

Any physician who takes and passes a certifying or recertifying examination administered by a recognized specialty board is granted credit for 100 Category 1 continuing medical education hours for four consecutive years.

How many CME points do I need per year?

100 State CME Licensure Requirements
StateRequired CME Per Year(s)
California*1004 yrs
California DO*1503 yrs

How many CME credits do I need?

completion of 24 hours of CME credit each year, at least half of which must be in formal courses—AMA PRA Category I, AOA Category I-A, or AAFP prescribed credit. Of the 24 hours required, at least 2 must be in the study of medical ethics/and or professional responsibility.

What is a Category 2 CME?

The AMA defines Category CME 2 as: The AMA recognizes that there are other educational experiences that may not be developed by an accredited CME provider or may not qualify for direct credits, but that do provide valuable learning for the physician.

What is Category 2 CME physician assistant?

Category 2 CME is any medically related activity that enhances the role of a PA. Category 2 credits are earned on an hour-by-hour basis. There is no minimum requirement for Category 2 activities and no maximum on the number of credits that you can earn for any Category 2 activity.

Related Posts: